Winsor & Newton Painting Prize

G F Watts experimented with colour and technique and continued a long correspondence with Winsor & Newton. Those letters can now be seen at the National Portrait Gallery. The Winsor & Newton Painting Prize marks this heritage and demonstrates Watts Gallery's commitment to supporting the development of new artists, sustaining the ethos and vision of our founders.

The prize demonstrates the commitment of Watts Gallery - Artists' Village to supporting the development of new artists and reflects the ethos and vision of the Gallery's founders, who both firmly believed that art could be transformative.

The Winsor & Newton Painting Prize is awarded annually to a graduate of the University of the Creative Arts. Generously supported by Winsor & Newton since its launch in 2004, the prize of £1,000 in artists' materials (increased in 2011 from £500) is both a prestigious endorsement and an opportunity for each artist to develop his or her practice. We are very grateful to Winsor & Newton for their support of the Painting Prize.

Winners of the Winsor & Newton Painting Prize

2004: Tristan Brooks

2005: Kevin Wells

2006: Sandy Curry

2007: Anna Readman

2008: Thomas Hurley

2009: Sheila Wallis

2010: Rachael Miles

2011: Helen Jarvis

2012: Deme Georghiou

2013: Laura Burke

2015: Joanna Robinson