The Make Space

Book Tickets

28 July 2019
Clore Learning Studio

Back to Events

Every Sunday
Drop in 10am - 4pm
Clore Learning Studio
Free with admission

No space at home to make? Drop in to the Make Space every Sunday and explore different kinds of materials and making in our Clore Learning Studio - situated beneath the studios where G F Watts painted and Mary Watts taught pottery classes to the local community.



You're never too young or too old to be creative

The Make Space is suitable for all ages.


Event Details

Sunday 9 June

Paper Marbling: Have a go at this form of paper decoration favoured by the Victorians.


Sunday 16 June

Sun prints: Create a botanical print using special paper and sunlight in a process called cyanotype.


Sunday 23 June

Ceramic Tile Design: Design a tile inspired by William de Morgan's ceramics.
This workshop will be developed and led by young people from the Art Forum.


Sunday 30 June

Watercolour Paintings: experiment with a range of watercolour techniques to create brilliant effects.


Sunday 7 July

Plaster casting: make plaster casts of shells and other objects by creating impressions in plasticine.


Sunday 14 July

Geometric printmaking: draw geometric designs into Styrofoam to make layered and repeat pattern prints.


Sunday 21 July

Woodland Fairy Fair


Sunday 28 July

Fabric collage: cut and stick fabrics to create a collage of mixed patterns and colours.


Sunday 4 August

Embossed foil design: draw a design into thin embossing foil to create an effective raised foil artwork.


Sunday 11 August

Plaster casting: make plaster casts of shells and other objects by creating impressions in plasticine.


Sunday 18 August

Geometric printmaking: draw geometric designs into Styrofoam to make layered and repeat pattern prints.


Sunday 25 August

August Bank Holiday Weekend: Summer Make Space


Sunday 1 September

Fabric collage: Cut and stick fabrics to create a collage of mixed patterns and colours.


Sunday 8 September

Embossed foil design: draw a design into thin embossing foil to create an effective raised foil artwork.


Sunday 15 September

Plaster casting: make plaster casts of shells and other objects by creating impressions in plasticine.


Sunday 22 September

Geometric printmaking: draw geometric designs into Styrofoam to make layered and repeat pattern prints.


Sunday 29 September

Make Festival


Sunday 6 October

Embossed foil design: draw a design into thin embossing foil to create an effective raised foil artwork.


Sunday 13 October

The Big Draw: 'Drawn to Life': be part of The World's biggest community of drawing enthusiasts!


Sunday 20 October

Plaster casting: make plaster casts of shells and other objects by creating impressions in plasticine.


Sunday 27 October

Geometric printmaking: draw geometric designs into Styrofoam to make layered and repeat pattern prints.

Want to attend? Buy a ticket to this event


Buy Tickets

Watts Gallery Trust is a registered Charity. Charity No. 313612. All profits help us to provide excellent educational activities, stage critically acclaimed exhibitions, and maintain our collection, buildings and estate for future generations to enjoy.

Upcoming Events and Exhibitions

Prev Next

Watts Tots: Paint

26 Jul

The Make Space

28 Jul

The Make Space

4 Aug

Summer Holidays: Make Space

5 Aug

Summer Holidays: Make Space

6 Aug

Summer Holidays: Make Space

7 Aug

Summer Holidays: Make Space

8 Aug

Summer Holidays: Make Space

9 Aug

Summer Holidays: Make Space

10 Aug